On an early chilly morning of December 28th, 2016, at around 5.30 AM, I started my Journey towards Horanadu, (Kannada: ಹೊರನಾಡು) located in Chickmagalur district, Karnataka, India. The deity at the Annapoorneshwari Temple at Hornadu is Annapoorneshwari (Hindu goddess of nourishment. She is an avatar (incarnation) of Parvati, the wife of Shiva).

img_3974

The main deity was put in place by Adi Shankaracharya; the new statue of goddess Annapoorneshwari was consecrated in the temple in 1973.

For more information about this temple, please go to their website below.

http://srikshetrahoranadu.com/

The Route:  Udupi – Karkala – Kudremuka – Samse – Kalasha – Horanadu – Total Distance120 Kilometres – Approximate time 2 Hours 46 Minutes. 

After having a good breakfast at Sagar Hotel at Karkala, I resumed my journey towards Kudremukh at 7 AM. After reaching the Kudremukha check post and took the gate pass from the forest guard, I continued on the road stretch which is wonderfully canopied by the lush green forest growth. It was too cold for me, even though I was wearing a Rynox Jacket with winter liner. The roads are really good with lots of curves, a rider’s paradise. I was waiting to see some sun rays so that I could stop at a beautiful place and shoot some nice pictures of Kudremukha along with my bike. My first encounter with the most beautiful early morning light was seven kilometres away from the check post where one more road leads towards Sringeri. The weather was slightly getting warmer which was a great relief.

img_3822

After spending some time over there I moved on further. These roads are every biker dream come true- imagine a clean road on the left and right being covered with lush green forest, cool weather, foggy environs- what else you can ask for, Its perfect. The scenery is mind-blowing- it seemed like the nature has selected to carpet the entire earth with green.

img_3900-recovered

The next stop was the location where one can experience the beautiful panoramic view of the Kudremukha hills range. Usually, every traveller stops there to see this and trust me it’s a breath taking view. One must go there to experience what I am saying. I spent more time there than required; my feet couldn’t move an inch, as in that heavenly ambience only grows on you – it seems like we’ll ever be satisfied going away from that natural screensaver that changes hues every half an hour.

img_3877

After sitting there for a while I went further towards the one and only longest straight road of Kudremukh, This is a bit of the route that every biker turns a toddler, desiring to check their bikes’ maximum speed-handling capacity on this stretch. It is like your bike feels it has found new wings on its own. The leap of joy, the adrenaline rush that every biker feels is to be experienced in person only. Even I tried to vroom with my bike here, but I could only stay till 90kmph max; I have heard that RE TB 350 can go up to 120kmph. Later when I came back from the trip I got the bike checked at the service centre with the mechanic telling the bolt on the back tyre was slightly loose, and this was the reason why my bike could not handle more than 90kmph. Every time before going on a long ride my first priority would be to check my bike with my mechanic. But this time I skipped because my bike was sent to free check-up camp two weeks back. I would not advise anyone to skip this as it is very important to have well-checked machines before road trips. Please don’t be over confident about your bike, keep this as your first priority.

img_3899

My next destination was kudremukh check post, at the other end of the Kudremukh range, where I had to submit the pass. But before that, I had to stop at one more place and how could I miss that.

img_4038

Once you cross that lengthy bridge at the end of kudremukh nearby is a Hanging bridge, may be one kilometre from the junction leading to another road towards Samse. This is situated in a beautiful setting. The best part of these bridges is it is always built at a wonderful location and the view was spectacular, to say the least.

img_4039

Next stop was Samse. Samse comes under Chikkamagaluru District in the Taluka of Mudigere. Samse is famous for a beautiful tea estate on the way towards Kalasha. I stopped there too for a while, took some snaps and moved towards Kalasha.

img_3962

After Kalasha it is finally Horanadu. The distance between Kalasha and Horanadu is 8 kilometres. People in this region strongly believe that if you visit Horanadu temple then it is a must that you also visit Kalasheshwara temple without fail- otherwise, your trip to Horandu is incomplete. I decided to visit Horanadu first and so did not stop there.

img_4014

I reached Horanadu at around 10.20AM and booked a room to freshen up at Bhakti Niwas, it cost me only 130 rupees with a 20 rupees refundable deposit. The only problem is here you won’t find mobile charging station and hot water to bathe. I felt it is fair enough for that price. I took rest for twenty minutes before a quick bath with the freezing water and I was raring to go again. That freezing water charged me 100%. After that I visited temple; had a good darshan of the Mother Annapoorneshwari. Anna Prasada (Holy Food offering by the Temple to the devotees) is served at 12.30pm. The main Prasad here is the Anna Prasada, and it is advised that anybody who takes darshan of the Divine Mother, had to partake this Anna Prasada before leaving. The contentment, tranquillity and the spiritual peace that I experienced in the temple didn’t leave me even after I’ve reached Kalasha.

img_3985

Kalasha is famous for Kalasheshwaraswami temple, a Shiva temple also known as Dakshina Kashi. The interesting history of the temple can be seen painted on the walls and the priests are always willing to narrate that for eager visitors. Lunch Prasada is served to the devotees in this temple too. After the darshan of Kalasheshwara, I rested a while and started my journey back home, via the same route, without much of the pit stops. I reached home at around 6 pm in the evening.

img_3987

It was a beautiful trip, and I felt rejuvenated. The total expenses for this trip were eight hundred and twenty, 600 rupees for petrol and 100 rupees for breakfast and a hundred and twenty for lodging.

img_3910

What an amazing ride!

Leave a Reply

